La Jolla Sunset and a Lesson Learned (Again!!) `

“One has achieved success who has lived well, laughed often and loved much; who has gained the respect of intelligent men and the love of little children; who has filled his niche and accomplished his task; who has left the world better than he found it, whether by an improved poppy, a perfect poem, or a rescued soul; who has never lacked appreciation of earth’s beauty or failed to express it; who has always looked for the best in others and given them the best he had; whose life was an inspiration; whose memory a benediction.”  Bessie Stanley

Recently I have been photographing primarily skies, particularly sunsets. They wake me up and give me inspiration. I have some wonderful images, but have been not posted any because I was too busy to write my usual “article” for a post. Therefore I have posted nothing recently. During this time I have been increasingly reminded that it is better to “something” well rather than to do “nothing” perfectly. In other words, the Best can be the enemy of the Good. After all, it is only I who knows what my initial intentions were, and that I did not complete them. This is a lesson that I am continually “learning” again and again. Now I will remember to put it into practice (for a while).

The sunset above is in La Jolla, California earlier this month. It is a panoramic composite of 5 vertical images (done in Photoshop Elements) and processed in Nik Photo Efex4. I love both programs and recommend them. (For the person just starting out with photo enhancement processing, I recommend buying a older version of Photoshop Elements, such as version 8 (the newest is version 11). It has impressive capabilities, but a low purchase price on eBay. No good manual comes with the program. I strongly recommend also getting “The Photoshop Elements 8 Book for Digital Photographers”.

So at this point I click “Publish”. Ahhh…  I feel much better.

I welcome your comments.

I am available at NaturePhotoRehab.com where I help to transform clients nature photos into works of art that they are proud to give as gifts or to hang on their own wall for inspiration.

9 comments on “La Jolla Sunset and a Lesson Learned (Again!!) `

  1. Thank you for this inspiring post. This is a very complex photo, with beautiful detail. I don’t know how to do the multiple-layer effect, but I sure can appreciate it!

  2. lindaolsen says:

    Wonderful shot. My brother lives in LaJolla so I am familiar with the area. Its such a unique area, so magical.

  3. Glad you’re back!
    I’ve never thought of combining photos before – you have gorgeous results!

  4. Patrizia M. says:

    Che tramonto fantastico!!!

Leave a Reply

